Sorry, you need to enable JavaScript to visit this website.

Skip to main content

Rechercher

Maladie pulmonaire obstructive chronique

Maladie pulmonaire obstructive chronique

Disease Interception Accelerator

Disease Interception Accelerator

La détection des individus à risque et au cours des premiers stades de la maladie pulmonaire obstructive chronique (MPOC) grâce à la radiologie et au suivi des biomarqueurs afin de tenter d'arrêter la destruction des petites voies respiratoires grâce à l'aérosolthérapie est l'objectif de l'équipe COPD Venture.

« La MPOC correspond à un besoin et une opportunité considérables pour l'interception. Bien que le tabagisme exerce une influence dominante sur le développement de la MPOC, ce n'est pas le seul facteur impliqué. Si nous pouvions perturber la progression de cette maladie chez des fumeurs à risque et chez des personnes atteintes de la forme précoce et légère de la MPOC (Stade GOLD 1), nous pourrions avoir un impact considérable sur le bien-être pulmonaire à travers le monde. »

Christopher Stevenson, titulaire d'un doctorat

Venture Leader, Chronic Obstructive Pulmonary Disease
Disease Interception Accelerator

L'opportunité :

Le terme MPOC fait référence à un groupe de maladies qui provoquent une obstruction des voies aériennes et des troubles respiratoires.12 Il s'agit de la troisième cause de décès à travers le monde et cette maladie a été diagnostiquée chez plus de 15 millions d'Américains.12, 13 Même si le tabagisme est le principal responsable de l'apparition de la MPOC aux États-Unis, les polluants aériens présents au domicile et sur le lieu de travail, la génétique et la maladie respiratoire jouent également un rôle, l'influence de la qualité de l'air intérieur étant plus forte dans les pays en développement.14 Le poids économique de la MPOC aux États-Unis représentait environ 50 milliards USD en 2010, en combinant les coûts indirects de 20 milliards USD et les dépenses directes de 30 milliards USD.

12 Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. Chronic Obstructive Pulmonary Disease. http://www.cdc.gov/copd/index.html. Consulté en décembre 2015.
13 Organisation mondiale de la santé. The top 10 causes of death. http://www.who.int/mediacentre/factsheets/fs310/en/. Consulté le 16 décembre 2015.
14 Guarascio, AJ. The clinical and economic burden of chronic obstructive pulmonary disease in the USA. Clinicoecon Outcomes Res. 2013 Jun 17;5:235-45. doi: 10.2147/CEOR.S34321. Imprimé en 2013.

Skip to main content

Search

Chronic Obstructive Pulmonary Disease

Chronic Obstructive Pulmonary Disease

Disease Interception Accelerator

Disease Interception Accelerator

Pinpointing individuals at risk and in the earliest stages of chronic obstructive pulmonary disease (COPD) using radiology and biomarker tracking in order to try to stop small airway destruction with inhaled therapy is the focus of the COPD Venture team.

“COPD represents an enormous need and opportunity for interception. While smoking is a dominant influence in the development of COPD, it is not the only factor involved. If we can interfere in the progression of this condition across at-risk smokers and individuals with mild, early COPD (GOLD 1 stage), we could have an important impact on pulmonary wellness worldwide.”

Christopher Stevenson, Ph.D.

Venture Leader, Chronic Obstructive Pulmonary Disease
Disease Interception Accelerator

The Opportunity:

COPD refers to a group of diseases that cause airflow blockage and breathing problems.12 It is the third leading cause of death worldwide and more than 15 million Americans are diagnosed with the disease.12, 13 While smoking is the main contributing factor for COPD in the United States (U.S.), air pollutants in the home and at work, genetics and respiratory illness also play a role, with indoor air quality having a greater impact in developing countries.14 The economic burden of COPD in the U.S. was approximately $50 billion in 2010, with indirect costs of $20 billion and direct expenditures of $30 billion.

12 Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. Chronic Obstructive Pulmonary Disease. http://www.cdc.gov/copd/index.html. Accessed December 2015.
13 World Health Organization. The top 10 causes of death. http://www.who.int/mediacentre/factsheets/fs310/en/. Accessed December 16, 2015.
14 Guarascio, AJ. The clinical and economic burden of chronic obstructive pulmonary disease in the USA. Clinicoecon Outcomes Res. 2013 Jun 17;5:235-45. doi: 10.2147/CEOR.S34321. Print 2013.