Sorry, you need to enable JavaScript to visit this website.

Skip to main content

Rechercher

Dépression périnatale

Dépression périnatale

Disease Interception Accelerator

Disease Interception Accelerator

L'Organisation mondiale de la Santé a déclaré que les troubles maternels de la santé mentale constituent un défi considérable pour la santé publique. L'un des troubles les plus inquiétants est la dépression périnatale (PND). L'équipe PND Venture s'efforce d'améliorer la santé mentale des mères et de leurs enfants en instaurant des méthodes de détection visant à identifier, profiler et suivre les femmes à risque afin d'intercepter la maladie avant qu'elle ne commence à affecter la mère et l'enfant.

« Lorsqu'on pense au concept d'interception de la maladie, c’est-à-dire l'identification du risque et l'intervention précoce avant que la maladie ne puisse progresser, on comprend qu'il est impossible d'intervenir plus tôt qu'au moment où l’enfant est encore dans l'utérus. L'interception de la dépression périnatale pourrait nous permettre d'améliorer la santé maternelle et le développement neurocognitif du fœtus et d'établir un lien sain entre la mère et l'enfant. »

Kevin Wildenhaus, titulaire d'un doctorat

Behavioral Science Lead & Perinatal Depression Venture Leader
Disease Interception Accelerator

L'opportunité :

Environ 10 à 20 % des femmes développent une PND.5 En fait, les femmes en âge de procréer constituent le plus important groupe d'Américains atteints de dépression.5 La dépression périnatale non diagnostiquée et non traitée est également associée à une augmentation du taux de suicides maternels.5 Toutefois, la PND affecte non seulement la mère, mais aussi son enfant, augmentant par 3 ou 4 le risque d'accouchement prématuré ou de faible poids à la naissance.5 Les coûts associés aux naissances prématurées, y compris les soins médicaux, d'accouchement, d'intervention précoce et d'éducation spécialisée, ajoutés à la perte de productivité, représentaient au total 5,7 milliards USD en 2005.5 En outre, la dépression pendant la grossesse peut altérer le développement du cerveau du bébé et augmenter les risques de troubles de l'humeur et de handicap cognitif.

5 National Institutes for Health Care Management. Identifying and Treating Maternal Depression: Strategies and Considerations for Health Plans. 2010 ; page 1. http://www.nihcm.org/pdf/FINAL_MaternalDepression6-7.pdf. Consulté en novembre 2015.

Sorry, you need to enable JavaScript to visit this website.

Skip to main content

Search

Perinatal Depression

Perinatal Depression

Disease Interception Accelerator

Disease Interception Accelerator

The World Health Organization has declared that maternal mental health disorders constitute a major public health challenge. One of the most concerning conditions is perinatal depression (PND). The PND Venture team is striving to improve the mental health of mothers and their offspring by establishing screening methods to identify, profile and track at-risk women in order to intercept the disease prior to the impact on both the mother and infant.

“When you think about the concept of disease interception – identifying risk and intervening early before the disease progresses – you realize that you can’t get much earlier than in the womb. Intercepting perinatal depression could enable us to improve maternal health and positively impact fetal neurocognitive development and healthy bonding between mother and her child.”

Kevin Wildenhaus, Ph.D.

Behavioral Science Lead & Perinatal Depression Venture Leader
Disease Interception Accelerator

The Opportunity:

Approximately 10-20 percent of women develop PND.5 In fact, women in their childbearing years make up the largest group of Americans with depression.5 Undiagnosed and untreated PND is also associated with increased rates of maternal suicide.5 However, PND impacts not just the mother but also her child, increasing the risk 3-4 times that the mother will deliver her baby pre-term or with low birth weight.5 Costs associated with pre-term births, including medical care, delivery, early intervention and special education, and lost productivity, totaled $5.7 billion in 2005.5 Further, depression in pregnancy can alter the baby’s brain development and increase susceptibility to mood disorders and cognitive disabilities.

5 National Institutes for Health Care Management. Identifying and Treating Maternal Depression: Strategies and Considerations for Health Plans. 2010; page 1. http://www.nihcm.org/pdf/FINAL_MaternalDepression6-7.pdf. Accessed November 2015.