Sorry, you need to enable JavaScript to visit this website.

Skip to main content

Rechercher

Presbytie et cataracte

Presbytie et cataracte

Disease Interception Accelerator

Disease Interception Accelerator

Dans le cadre de ses travaux visant à développer des solutions topiques (gouttes oculaires) qui intercepteront la presbytie et la cataracte et amélioreront l'acuité visuelle, l'équipe Presbyopia/Cataracts Venture développe des collaborations afin de protéger la vue de chacun à l'avenir.

« La presbytie et la cataracte sont toutes deux liées à une anomalie du pliage et de l'agrégation des protéines. L'agrégation initiale entraîne une rigidité de la rétine, une presbytie et la nécessité de porter des lunettes de lecture. L'âge venant, ce processus est suivi par une agrégation plus prononcée des protéines, qui aboutit à une opacification et à la cataracte. L'interception de l'agrégation des protéines dans la rétine pourrait offrir des avantages supplémentaires, notamment une réduction de l'asthénopie [fatigue oculaire] et une baisse du nombre de chutes et d'accidents automobiles chez les personnes âgées. »

Eric George, titulaire d'un doctorat

Venture Leader, Presbyopia/Cataracts
Disease Interception Accelerator

L'opportunité :

La presbytie est considérée comme un trouble visuel qui touche toute la population de plus de 40 ans et les chiffres du recensement estiment que 112 millions de personnes aux États-Unis étaient atteintes de ce trouble en 2006.2 La formation de la cataracte demeure la principale cause de cécité à travers le monde, affectant 20 millions de personnes. Bien qu'il existe des traitements chirurgicaux, leur accès reste limité dans de nombreux pays, et un grand nombre de personnes ne peuvent pas se faire opérer.3 Plus de 3,2 millions d'interventions chirurgicales sont réalisées chaque année uniquement pour traiter ce trouble aux États-Unis.4 Malgré un taux de réussite très important et prouvé, l'opération de la cataracte comporte certains risques et peut nécessiter une intervention de suivi.

2 American Optometric Association. Optometric Clinical Practice Guideline Care of the Patient with Presbyopia. 2011. http://www.aoa.org/documents/optometrists/CPG-17.pdf. Consulté le 24 juin 2015.
3 Organisation mondiale de la santé. Priority eye diseases. http://www.who.int/blindness/causes/priority/en/index1.html. Consulté en janvier 2016.
4 Lindstrom R L. Adoption of refractive cataract surgery essential for anterior segment surgeons. Healio. 11 déc. 2011. http://www.healio.com/ophthalmology/cataract-surgery/news/print/ocular-surgery-news/%7Bd566b9fc-4c60-4167-9ba4-e627a93c42e0%7D/adoption-of-refractive-cataract-surgery-essential-for-anterior-segment-surgeons. Consulté le 9 juin 2015.

Sorry, you need to enable JavaScript to visit this website.

Skip to main content

Search

Presbyopia and Cataracts

Presbyopia and Cataracts

Disease Interception Accelerator

Disease Interception Accelerator

Working to develop topical solutions (eye drops) that will intercept presbyopia and cataracts and improve visual acuity, the Presbyopia/Cataracts Venture team is developing collaborations to protect the vision of individuals in the future.

“Presbyopia and cataracts are both linked to protein misfolding and aggregation. Initial aggregation leads to lens stiffening, presbyopia and the need for reading glasses. With aging, this process is followed by more pronounced protein aggregation leading to opacification and cataracts. The interception of protein aggregation in the lens could have additional benefits, including a reduction in asthenopia [tired eyes] and decreased incidents of falls and auto accidents among the elderly.”

Eric George, Ph.D.

Venture Leader, Presbyopia/Cataracts
Disease Interception Accelerator

The Opportunity:

Presbyopia is considered a visual condition of everyone over the age of 40 and census figures estimate that 112 million people in the United States (U.S.) had the condition in 2006.2 The formation of cataracts remains the leading cause of blindness worldwide, affecting 20 million people. Though treatable through surgery, access barriers exist in many countries, preventing individuals from getting surgery.3 More than 3.2 million surgical procedures are performed each year to address the condition in the U.S. alone.4 Cataract surgery, while known to be highly successful, comes with risks and may require follow-up surgery.

2 American Optometric Association. Optometric Clinical Practice Guideline Care of the Patient with Presbyopia. 2011. http://www.aoa.org/documents/optometrists/CPG-17.pdf. Accessed June 24, 2015.
3 World Health Organization. Priority eye diseases. http://www.who.int/blindness/causes/priority/en/index1.html. Accessed January 2016.
4 Lindstrom R L. Adoption of refractive cataract surgery essential for anterior segment surgeons. Healio. Dec 11, 2011. http://www.healio.com/ophthalmology/cataract-surgery/news/print/ocular-surgery-news/%7Bd566b9fc-4c60-4167-9ba4-e627a93c42e0%7D/adoption-of-refractive-cataract-surgery-essential-for-anterior-segment-surgeons. Accessed June 9, 2015.