Sorry, you need to enable JavaScript to visit this website.

Skip to main content

Поиск

Пресбиопия и катаракта

Пресбиопия и катаракта

Disease Interception Accelerator

Disease Interception Accelerator

Венчурная группа, отвечающая за пресбиопию/катаракту, работает над созданием местных средств (глазные капли), пригодных для максимально ранней диагностики и лечения пресбиопии и катаракты, а также для улучшения остроты зрения. Группа налаживает каналы сотрудничества для защиты зрения людей в будущем.

«Пресбиопия и катаракта связаны с нарушениями при формировании структуры и агрегации белка. Инициальная агрегация ведет к отверждению хрусталика, пресбиопии и необходимости носить очки для чтения. С возрастом этот процесс сопровождается более выраженной агрегацией белка, что приводит к помутнению и катаракте. Максимально ранняя диагностика и лечение агрегации белка в хрусталиках может иметь дополнительные преимущества, включая снижение астенопии [усталости глаз] и уменьшение числа несчастных случаев, связанных с падением, и автомобильных аварий с участием пожилых людей».

Eric George, Ph.D.

Руководитель венчурной группы по пресбиопии/катаракте
Бизнес-инкубатор максимально ранней диагностики и лечения

Возможность:

Пресбиопия — нарушение зрения у людей старше 40 лет. По данным переписи населения 2006 г., в Соединенных Штатах (США) данная патология наблюдалась у 112 миллионов человек2. Во всем мире образование катаракты остается главной причиной слепоты, которой страдают 20 миллионов человек. Хотя эта патология поддается коррекции хирургическим путем, во многих странах существуют барьеры, мешающие людям получить хирургическую помощь3. Только в США ежегодно проводится 3,2 миллиона хирургических операций по коррекции этой патологии4. Операции по удалению катаракты, как правило, проходят успешно. Однако они сопряжены с рисками и могут потребовать повторного хирургического вмешательства.

2 American Optometric Association (Американская ассоциация оптометристов). Optometric Clinical Practice Guideline Care of the Patient with Presbyopia. 2011. http://www.aoa.org/documents/optometrists/CPG-17.pdf. Accessed June 24, 2015 (Выпуск от 24 июня 2015 г.).
3 World Health Organization (Всемирная организация здравоохранения). Priority eye diseases. http://www.who.int/blindness/causes/priority/en/index1.html. Accessed January 2016 (Выпуск от января 2016 г.).
4 Lindstrom R L. Adoption of refractive cataract surgery essential for anterior segment surgeons. Healio. Dec 11, 2011. http://www.healio.com/ophthalmology/cataract-surgery/news/print/ocular-surgery-news/%7Bd566b9fc-4c60-4167-9ba4-e627a93c42e0%7D/adoption-of-refractive-cataract-surgery-essential-for-anterior-segment-surgeons. Accessed June 9, 2015 (Выпуск от 09 июня 2015 г.).

Sorry, you need to enable JavaScript to visit this website.

Skip to main content

Search

Presbyopia and Cataracts

Presbyopia and Cataracts

Disease Interception Accelerator

Disease Interception Accelerator

Working to develop topical solutions (eye drops) that will intercept presbyopia and cataracts and improve visual acuity, the Presbyopia/Cataracts Venture team is developing collaborations to protect the vision of individuals in the future.

“Presbyopia and cataracts are both linked to protein misfolding and aggregation. Initial aggregation leads to lens stiffening, presbyopia and the need for reading glasses. With aging, this process is followed by more pronounced protein aggregation leading to opacification and cataracts. The interception of protein aggregation in the lens could have additional benefits, including a reduction in asthenopia [tired eyes] and decreased incidents of falls and auto accidents among the elderly.”

Eric George, Ph.D.

Venture Leader, Presbyopia/Cataracts
Disease Interception Accelerator

The Opportunity:

Presbyopia is considered a visual condition of everyone over the age of 40 and census figures estimate that 112 million people in the United States (U.S.) had the condition in 2006.2 The formation of cataracts remains the leading cause of blindness worldwide, affecting 20 million people. Though treatable through surgery, access barriers exist in many countries, preventing individuals from getting surgery.3 More than 3.2 million surgical procedures are performed each year to address the condition in the U.S. alone.4 Cataract surgery, while known to be highly successful, comes with risks and may require follow-up surgery.

2 American Optometric Association. Optometric Clinical Practice Guideline Care of the Patient with Presbyopia. 2011. http://www.aoa.org/documents/optometrists/CPG-17.pdf. Accessed June 24, 2015.
3 World Health Organization. Priority eye diseases. http://www.who.int/blindness/causes/priority/en/index1.html. Accessed January 2016.
4 Lindstrom R L. Adoption of refractive cataract surgery essential for anterior segment surgeons. Healio. Dec 11, 2011. http://www.healio.com/ophthalmology/cataract-surgery/news/print/ocular-surgery-news/%7Bd566b9fc-4c60-4167-9ba4-e627a93c42e0%7D/adoption-of-refractive-cataract-surgery-essential-for-anterior-segment-surgeons. Accessed June 9, 2015.