Sorry, you need to enable JavaScript to visit this website.

Skip to main content

Rechercher

Recherche sur le traitement des infections respiratoires

Infections respiratoires

Infectious Diseases & Vaccines

Infectious Diseases & Vaccines

The structure of HIV
The structure of HIV

Lutter contre les maladies respiratoires virales graves

Un besoin courant mais non satisfait

Aujourd'hui, les infections respiratoires virales font partie des maladies les plus fréquentes au monde. Trop souvent sous-estimées ou non traitées, on estime qu'elles provoquent quatre millions de décès chaque année.1 C'est quatre millions de trop.

Nous avons mis en place un programme de recherche et de développement exhaustif qui s'emploie à trouver des solutions innovantes afin de prévenir et traiter trois des infections respiratoires virales les plus graves : le virus respiratoire syncytial (VRS), l'influenza (la grippe) et le métapneumovirus humain (hMPV). Notre but est d'aider les gens à combattre le fardeau que représentent ces infections.

Lutter contre une maladie grave : le VRS

Le virus respiratoire syncytial (VRS) est un virus saisonnier courant qui touche les poumons et les voies respiratoires de 64 millions d'adultes et d'enfants chaque année.2 Tous les nouveau-nés et les enfants en bas âge souffriront au moins d'un épisode infectieux de VRS avant l'âge de deux ans.3 Le VRS est responsable de près de 160 000 décès par an et reste une cause majeure d'hospitalisation chez les adultes, ainsi que chez les enfants en bas âge et les nouveau-nés, dans les pays industrialisés.4

Notre programme de développement d'un composé qui cible le VRS se concentre sur l'étude de plusieurs mécanismes d'action destinés à inhiber la réplication virale, notamment par le biais de travaux de recherche sur plusieurs vaccins expérimentaux.

Prendre position contre la grippe

L'influenza, plus connue sous le nom de grippe, demeure l'un des enjeux de santé publique les plus graves au monde. Bien qu'elle ne soit pas toujours considérée comme une infection à haut risque et qu'elle soit souvent banalisée et traitée de « simple rhume », elle tue une personne toutes les 60 secondes.5

Plus d'un milliard de cas de grippe sont recensés chaque année dans le monde,6 chiffre qui se traduit par près de cinq millions de cas de maladie grave et jusqu'à 650 000 décès.5 Les personnes qui présentent un risques élevé de complications sont les nouveau-nés et les enfants en bas âge, les femmes enceintes, les personnes âgées, les personnes atteintes de pathologies sous-jacentes et les personnes immunodéprimées.5

Chaque année, des vaccins sont mis à disposition pour contribuer à prévenir l'infection, principalement dans ces groupes à haut risque.
Le Centre américain pour le contrôle et la prévention des maladies (CDC) rapporte que de récentes études indiquent dorénavant que les vaccins contre la grippe réduisent le risque de maladie grippale de 40 à 60 % dans la population générale pendant la grippe saisonnière.7 Cette donne souligne la nécessité de trouver de nouveaux moyens d'endiguer ces épidémies.

Le traitement de la grippe repose sur des antiviraux dont les études cliniques indiquent qu'ils réduisent la maladie et la gravité des symptômes, à condition d'être pris dans les deux jours qui suivent l'apparition de l'infection. Le besoin de nouveaux médicaments qui fournissent une fenêtre thérapeutique prolongée, qui soient efficaces pour les patients hospitalisés qui sont gravement malades et qui présentent un risque de pharmacorésistance moindre, est bien réel.

Dans un souci de combattre la résistance et de répondre à un besoin mondial d'options thérapeutiques renforcées contre le virus de la grippe A et de la grippe B, nous étudions plusieurs composés dotés de mécanismes d'action différents.

En apprendre davantage sur la façon dont nous intensifions la lutte contre la grippe.

Lutter contre le métapneumovirus humain (hMPV)

Le métapneumovirus humain (hMPV) provoque des maladies respiratoires chez des personnes de tous âges, et notamment chez les enfants en bas âge, les personnes âgées et les personnes qui présentent un système immunitaire affaibli. Il s'agit de la deuxième cause la plus fréquente d'infection des voies respiratoires inférieures chez les enfants.

À l'âge de 5 ans, la plupart auront été infectées par le virus hMPV, et sur ce nombre, 5 à 16 % d'entre elles auront développé une infection grave des voies respiratoires inférieures, telles que la pneumonie.8

Environ 10 % des cas d'hospitalisation dus à des maladies respiratoires en pédiatrie sont provoqués par le hMPV9 et 10 % des adultes âgés de plus de 65 ans auront un résultat positif au test de dépistage des infections à hMPV.8

Présentant des symptômes identiques à ceux du VRS, ce n'est que récemment que le hMPV a été reconnu comme un virus respiratoire.
Les professionnels de santé ne pratiquent en général pas de test de dépistage des infections à hMPV, mais le virus peut être dépisté au moyen de tests de détection par RT-PRC (réaction en chaîne par polymérase à transcriptase inverse), de techniques d'immunofluorescence, de dosages immuno-enzymatiques ou en identifiant le virus dans des cultures cellulaires.

À l'heure actuelle, il n'existe aucun traitement antiviral spécifique contre le hMPV. Janssen étudie un analogue de nucléoside pour le traitement éventuel de la maladie.

Références

1 Mayor S. Acute respiratory infections are world’s third leading cause of death. BMJ. 2010; 9(1): c6360-c6360.

2 Collins PL and Graham BS. Viral and Host Factors in Human Respiratory Syncytial Virus Pathogenesis. Journal of Virology. 2008; 82(5): 2040-2055.

3 Organisation mondiale de la santé (2017). WHO Preferred Product Characteristics for Respiratory Syncytial Virus (RSV) Vaccines. [en ligne]. Disponible sur : http://apps.who.int/iris/bitstream/10665/258705/1/WHO-IVB-17.11-eng.pdf?.... Dernière consultation : février 2018.

4 Hurwitz, J. L. Respiratory syncytial virus vaccine development. Expert Review of Vaccines. 2011; 10(10): 1415-1433.

5 Organisation mondiale de la santé. (2018). Influenza (Seasonal). [en ligne]. Disponible sur : http://www.who.int/mediacentre/factsheets/fs211/en/ Dernière consultation : février 2018.

6 Organisation mondiale de la santé. (2008). Immunization, vaccines and biologicals: influenza. Disponible sur : http://www.who.int/immunization/topics/influenza/en/ Dernière consultation : février 2018.

7 CDC. (2017). Vaccine Effectiveness - How Well Does the Flu Vaccine Work? | Seasonal Influenza (Flu) [en ligne]. Disponible sur : https://www.cdc.gov/flu/about/qa/vaccineeffect.htm Dernière consultation : février 2018.

8 American Lung Association. (2018). Learn about Human Metapneumovirus (hMPV). [en ligne]. Disponible sur : http://www.lung.org/lung-health-and-diseases/lung-disease-lookup/human-m... Dernière consultation : février 2018.

9 Panda S et al. Human metapneumovirus: review of an important respiratory pathogen. International Journal of Infectious Disease. 2014; 25: 45-52.

Sorry, you need to enable JavaScript to visit this website.
Skip to main content

Search

Respiratory Infections Research & Development

Respiratory Infections

Infectious Diseases & Vaccines

Infectious Diseases & Vaccines

The structure of HIV
The structure of HIV

Tackling Severe Viral Respiratory Diseases

A Common but Unmet Need

Today, viral respiratory infections are among the most common illnesses in the world. Too often underestimated or untreated, they cause an estimated four million deaths every year.1 That’s four million too many.

We have an intensive research and development program focused on innovative solutions to prevent and treat three of the most severe viral respiratory infections: respiratory syncytial virus (RSV), influenza (flu) and human metapneumovirus (hMPV). Our goal is to help people fight the burden of these infections.

Tackling a Major Disease: RSV

RSV is a common seasonal virus that affects the lungs and airways of 64 million adults and children every year.2 All infants and toddlers will experience at least one RSV infection before they reach the age of two.3 RSV causes almost 160,000 deaths per year and remains a major cause of hospitalization among adults, as well as young children and infants in industrialized countries.4

Our RSV compound development program is focused on exploring multiple mechanisms of action to inhibit viral replication including research into various investigational vaccines.

Taking a Stand Against Influenza

Influenza, more commonly known as the flu, remains one of the world’s most serious public health challenges. Although not always seen as a high-risk infection, and often written off as ‘just a cold,’ it kills someone every 60 seconds.5

Worldwide there are more than one billion cases of influenza each year,6 resulting in approximately five million cases of severe illness and up to 650,000 deaths.5 Those at high risk of complications are infants and young children, pregnant women, the elderly, people with underlying medical conditions and the immunocompromised.5

Each year, vaccines are made available to help prevent infection, primarily among these high-risk groups. The U.S. Center for Disease Control (CDC) reports that recent studies now show flu vaccination reduces the risk of flu illness by 40 – 60 percent among the overall population during the flu season.7 This highlights the need to find new ways to stop these outbreaks.

The treatment of influenza consists of antiviral medications that have been shown in clinical studies to shorten the disease and reduce the severity of symptoms if taken within two days of infection. There is a need for new medicines that provide a longer treatment window, are effective for hospitalized patients that are severely ill and have a reduced threat of resistance.

In an effort to combat resistance and address the global need for improved treatment options against influenza A and B, we are exploring multiple compounds with differing mechanisms of action.

Read more about how we are bringing the fight to flu.

Fighting Back Against hMPV

Human Metapneumovirus (hMPV) causes respiratory disease in people of all ages, especially young children, older adults, and people with weakened immune systems. It is the second most common cause of lower respiratory tract infection in children.

By the age of 5, most will have been infected with hMPV, and of these, 5 – 16 percent will develop a serious lower respiratory tract infection such as pneumonia.8

Approximately 10 percent of hospitalizations due to pediatric respiratory illnesses are caused by hMPV9 and 10 percent of adults over the age of 65 will test positive for hMPV.8

Only recently has hMPV been recognized as a respiratory virus and displays similar symptoms to RSV. Healthcare professionals do not normally test for hMPV infection, but hMPV can be detected by reverse transcriptase polymerase chain reaction assays, immunofluorescence, enzyme immunoassay or identifying the virus in cell cultures.

Currently, there is no specific antiviral therapy for hMPV available. Janssen is exploring a nucleoside analogue for the potential treatment of the disease.

References

1 Mayor S. Acute respiratory infections are world’s third leading cause of death. BMJ. 2010; 9(1): c6360–c6360.

2 Collins PL and Graham BS. Viral and Host Factors in Human Respiratory Syncytial Virus Pathogenesis. Journal of Virology. 2008; 82(5): 2040-2055.

3 World Health Organization. (2017). WHO Preferred Product Characteristics for Respiratory Syncytial Virus (RSV) Vaccines. [online]. Available at: http://apps.who.int/iris/bitstream/10665/258705/1/WHO-IVB-17.11-eng.pdf?.... Last accessed: February 2018

4 Hurwitz, J. L. Respiratory syncytial virus vaccine development. Expert Review of Vaccines. 2011; 10(10): 1415–1433.

5 World Health Organization. (2018). Influenza (Seasonal). [online]. Available at: http://www.who.int/mediacentre/factsheets/fs211/en/ Last accessed: February 2018.

6 World Health Organization. (2008). Immunization, vaccines and biologicals: influenza. Available at: http://www.who.int/immunization/topics/influenza/en/ Last accessed: February 2018

7 CDC. (2017). Vaccine Effectiveness - How Well Does the Flu Vaccine Work? | Seasonal Influenza (Flu) [online]. Available at: https://www.cdc.gov/flu/about/qa/vaccineeffect.htm Last accessed: February 2018.

8 American Lung Association. (2018). Learn about Human Metapneumovirus (hMPV). [online]. Available at: http://www.lung.org/lung-health-and-diseases/lung-disease-lookup/human-m... Last accessed: February 2018.

9 Panda S et al. Human metapneumovirus: review of an important respiratory pathogen. International Journal of Infectious Disease. 2014; 25: 45-52.