Sorry, you need to enable JavaScript to visit this website.
Skip to main content

Поиск

Исследование терапии респираторных инфекций

Респираторные инфекции

Инфекционные заболевания и вакцины

Infectious Diseases & Vaccines

The structure of HIV
The structure of HIV

Борьба с тяжелыми вирусными респираторными заболеваниями

Распространенная, но неудовлетворенная потребность

В наши дни респираторные вирусные инфекции относятся к наиболее распространенным заболеваниям в мире. Их слишком часто недооценивают или не лечат, поэтому, согласно имеющимся данным, ежегодно они становятся причиной четырех миллионов смертей1. Это очень много.

Мы реализуем интенсивную программу исследований и разработок, ориентированную на создание инновационных решений по профилактике и лечению трех самых тяжелых респираторных вирусных инфекций: респираторно-синцитиального вируса (РСВ), гриппа и метапневмовируса человека (МПВ). Наша цель состоит в том, чтобы помочь людям справиться с этими инфекциями.

Борьба с основным заболеванием: РСВ

РСВ — это распространенный сезонный вирус, который ежегодно поражает легкие и дыхательные пути 64 миллионов взрослых и детей2. Все малыши до двух лет переносят как минимум одну инфекцию РСВ3. РСВ вызывает почти 160 000 смертей в год и остается одной из основных причин госпитализации среди взрослых и маленьких детей в промышленно развитых странах4.

Наша программа разработки препарата против РСВ направлена на изучение многочисленных механизмов действия для ингибирования репликации вируса, включая исследования различных экспериментальных вакцин.

Борьба с гриппом

Грипп остается одной из самых серьезных проблем здравоохранения в мире. Несмотря на то что его не всегда рассматривают как инфекцию с высоким риском и нередко называют «обычной простудой», он каждые 60 секунд убивает одного человека5.

Во всем мире ежегодно регистрируется более одного миллиарда случаев заболевания гриппом6, что приводит примерно к пяти миллионам тяжелых болезней и 650 000 летальных исходов5. К группе высокого риска развития осложнений относятся дети грудного и раннего возраста, беременные женщины, пожилые люди, люди с сопутствующими заболеваниями и ослабленным иммунитетом5.

Каждый год на рынок поступают вакцины для профилактики инфекции, направленные в первую очередь на группы высокого риска. Центр по контролю и профилактике заболеваний США (CDC) сообщает, что, согласно недавним исследованиям, вакцинация против гриппа снижает риск этого заболевания на 40–60 процентов среди всего населения на протяжении эпидемиологического сезона7. Это подчеркивает необходимость поиска новых методов борьбы со вспышками болезни.

Лечение гриппа предполагает применение противовирусных препаратов, которые в случае приема в течение двух дней после заражения сокращают продолжительность болезни и облегчают симптомы, что было доказано клиническими исследованиями. В настоящее время существует потребность в новых препаратах, которые позволяли бы продлить интервал применения, были эффективны для тяжелобольных госпитализированных пациентов и имели меньшую угрозу развития устойчивости.

В целях борьбы с резистентностью и для удовлетворения глобальных потребностей в усовершенствованных методах лечения гриппа A и B мы изучаем множество лекарственных препаратов с различными механизмами действия.

Подробнее о нашей борьбе с гриппом.

Борьба с метапневмовирусом человека

Метапневмовирус человека (МПВ) вызывает респираторные заболевания у людей всех возрастов, особенно у маленьких детей, пожилых людей и людей с ослабленной иммунной системой. Это вторая по распространенности причина инфекции нижних дыхательных путей у детей.

К 5-летнему возрасту большинство из них инфицированы МПВ, а у 5–16 процентов развивается серьезная инфекция нижних дыхательных путей, такая как пневмония8.

Примерно 10 процентов госпитализаций из-за детских респираторных заболеваний вызваны МПВ9, а у 10 процентов взрослых старше 65 лет тест на МПВ дает положительный результат8.

МПВ, только недавно признанный респираторным вирусом, вызывает симптомы, аналогичные РСВ. Медицинских работников обычно не проверяют на наличие МПВ, однако его можно выявить с помощью анализа полимеразной цепной реакции с обратной транскриптазой, иммунофлуоресценции, иммуноферментного анализа или путем идентификации вируса в клеточных культурах.

В настоящее время специфической противовирусной терапии для МПВ не существует. Компания Janssen изучает нуклеозидный аналог как потенциальное средство для лечения болезни.

Ссылки

1 Mayor S. Acute respiratory infections are world’s third leading cause of death. BMJ. 2010; 9(1): c6360–c6360.

2 Collins PL and Graham BS. Viral and Host Factors in Human Respiratory Syncytial Virus Pathogenesis. Journal of Virology. 2008; 82(5): 2040–2055.

3 World Health Organization (2017). WHO Preferred Product Characteristics for Respiratory Syncytial Virus (RSV) Vaccines [онлайн]. Доступно по ссылке: http://apps.who.int/iris/bitstream/10665/258705/1/WHO-IVB-17.11-eng.pdf?.... Последний доступ: февраль 2018 г.

4 Hurwitz, J. L. Respiratory syncytial virus vaccine development. Expert Review of Vaccines. 2011; 10(10): 1415–1433.

5 World Health Organization (2018). Influenza (Seasonal). [онлайн]. Доступно по ссылке: http://www.who.int/mediacentre/factsheets/fs211/en/. Последний доступ: февраль 2018 г.

6 World Health Organization (2008). Immunization, vaccines and biologicals: influenza. Доступно по ссылке: http://www.who.int/immunization/topics/influenza/en/. Последний доступ: февраль 2018 г.

7 CDC (2017). Vaccine Effectiveness - How Well Does the Flu Vaccine Work? | Seasonal Influenza (Flu) [онлайн]. Доступно по ссылке: https://www.cdc.gov/flu/about/qa/vaccineeffect.htm. Последний доступ: февраль 2018 г.

8 American Lung Association (2018). Learn about Human Metapneumovirus (hMPV) [онлайн]. Доступно по ссылке: http://www.lung.org/lung-health-and-diseases/lung-disease-lookup/human-m.... Последний доступ: февраль 2018 г.

9 Panda S et al. Human metapneumovirus: review of an important respiratory pathogen. International Journal of Infectious Disease. 2014; 25: 45–52.

Sorry, you need to enable JavaScript to visit this website.
Skip to main content

Search

Respiratory Infections Research & Development

Respiratory Infections

Infectious Diseases & Vaccines

Infectious Diseases & Vaccines

The structure of HIV
The structure of HIV

Tackling Severe Viral Respiratory Diseases

A Common but Unmet Need

Today, viral respiratory infections are among the most common illnesses in the world. Too often underestimated or untreated, they cause an estimated four million deaths every year.1 That’s four million too many.

We have an intensive research and development program focused on innovative solutions to prevent and treat three of the most severe viral respiratory infections: respiratory syncytial virus (RSV), influenza (flu) and human metapneumovirus (hMPV). Our goal is to help people fight the burden of these infections.

Tackling a Major Disease: RSV

RSV is a common seasonal virus that affects the lungs and airways of 64 million adults and children every year.2 All infants and toddlers will experience at least one RSV infection before they reach the age of two.3 RSV causes almost 160,000 deaths per year and remains a major cause of hospitalization among adults, as well as young children and infants in industrialized countries.4

Our RSV compound development program is focused on exploring multiple mechanisms of action to inhibit viral replication including research into various investigational vaccines.

Taking a Stand Against Influenza

Influenza, more commonly known as the flu, remains one of the world’s most serious public health challenges. Although not always seen as a high-risk infection, and often written off as ‘just a cold,’ it kills someone every 60 seconds.5

Worldwide there are more than one billion cases of influenza each year,6 resulting in approximately five million cases of severe illness and up to 650,000 deaths.5 Those at high risk of complications are infants and young children, pregnant women, the elderly, people with underlying medical conditions and the immunocompromised.5

Each year, vaccines are made available to help prevent infection, primarily among these high-risk groups. The U.S. Center for Disease Control (CDC) reports that recent studies now show flu vaccination reduces the risk of flu illness by 40 – 60 percent among the overall population during the flu season.7 This highlights the need to find new ways to stop these outbreaks.

The treatment of influenza consists of antiviral medications that have been shown in clinical studies to shorten the disease and reduce the severity of symptoms if taken within two days of infection. There is a need for new medicines that provide a longer treatment window, are effective for hospitalized patients that are severely ill and have a reduced threat of resistance.

In an effort to combat resistance and address the global need for improved treatment options against influenza A and B, we are exploring multiple compounds with differing mechanisms of action.

Read more about how we are bringing the fight to flu.

Fighting Back Against hMPV

Human Metapneumovirus (hMPV) causes respiratory disease in people of all ages, especially young children, older adults, and people with weakened immune systems. It is the second most common cause of lower respiratory tract infection in children.

By the age of 5, most will have been infected with hMPV, and of these, 5 – 16 percent will develop a serious lower respiratory tract infection such as pneumonia.8

Approximately 10 percent of hospitalizations due to pediatric respiratory illnesses are caused by hMPV9 and 10 percent of adults over the age of 65 will test positive for hMPV.8

Only recently has hMPV been recognized as a respiratory virus and displays similar symptoms to RSV. Healthcare professionals do not normally test for hMPV infection, but hMPV can be detected by reverse transcriptase polymerase chain reaction assays, immunofluorescence, enzyme immunoassay or identifying the virus in cell cultures.

Currently, there is no specific antiviral therapy for hMPV available. Janssen is exploring a nucleoside analogue for the potential treatment of the disease.

References

1 Mayor S. Acute respiratory infections are world’s third leading cause of death. BMJ. 2010; 9(1): c6360–c6360.

2 Collins PL and Graham BS. Viral and Host Factors in Human Respiratory Syncytial Virus Pathogenesis. Journal of Virology. 2008; 82(5): 2040-2055.

3 World Health Organization. (2017). WHO Preferred Product Characteristics for Respiratory Syncytial Virus (RSV) Vaccines. [online]. Available at: http://apps.who.int/iris/bitstream/10665/258705/1/WHO-IVB-17.11-eng.pdf?.... Last accessed: February 2018

4 Hurwitz, J. L. Respiratory syncytial virus vaccine development. Expert Review of Vaccines. 2011; 10(10): 1415–1433.

5 World Health Organization. (2018). Influenza (Seasonal). [online]. Available at: http://www.who.int/mediacentre/factsheets/fs211/en/ Last accessed: February 2018.

6 World Health Organization. (2008). Immunization, vaccines and biologicals: influenza. Available at: http://www.who.int/immunization/topics/influenza/en/ Last accessed: February 2018

7 CDC. (2017). Vaccine Effectiveness - How Well Does the Flu Vaccine Work? | Seasonal Influenza (Flu) [online]. Available at: https://www.cdc.gov/flu/about/qa/vaccineeffect.htm Last accessed: February 2018.

8 American Lung Association. (2018). Learn about Human Metapneumovirus (hMPV). [online]. Available at: http://www.lung.org/lung-health-and-diseases/lung-disease-lookup/human-m... Last accessed: February 2018.

9 Panda S et al. Human metapneumovirus: review of an important respiratory pathogen. International Journal of Infectious Disease. 2014; 25: 45-52.